30×30 Challenge Wrap-up + Giveaway

30x30 Wrap-up and GiveawaySo the challenge is over and I’ve had a long weekend to relax and reflect on all that card making.  I first want to thank you all for sticking with me through the challenge.  I know that cards don’t excite all of you as much as they excite me and there were definitely a lot of cards coming your way last month.  I promise that there will be a much more eclectic mix of posts from here on out, hopefully something for everyone, so thank you for enduring the card mania.

Sometimes it’s not enough just to say thank you, so I thought I would have a little giveaway.  If you comment on this post, telling me your favorite card from the challenge, you will be entered to win the card of your choice.  But that’s not all.  If you share this post on any social media outlets (Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc.,) then you can win an additional entry and an additional card for each share, up to 5 cards, envelopes included.  Just tell me in your comment where you’ve shared the post and I will take your word for it, so please be honest!

Unfortunately I’ve already given away the card from day 10, so it can still be your favorite, but it isn’t in the pool for the giveaway.  Everything else is up for grabs.  The “Thinking of You” set and the “Butterfly Tags” will go as individuals and the “Envelope Book” is on the table, so enter away!!!  International entries are welcome.  Comments will close on Monday the 10th at midnight and I will draw a winner on Tuesday morning.

Here are all 30 cards for your perusal.

Vintage map butterfly card

I also want to share my reflections on the challenge before I move on to my next project.  I learned a few things from the exercise and here they are.

1.  Having a schedule and agenda for your creativity is essential to stretching your limits in your craft.  I wouldn’t have tried half the things I did if I weren’t forcing myself to sit down every night and create.

2.  If you get in a crafting routine, it doesn’t take as much time as you think it will, to turn out work you are proud of.  The more you do something, the faster you work, and the faster the ideas flow.

3.  You won’t always like what you make, but you’ll always learn something from it.  I have to admit, in the first week or so of the challenge I tried a few things that I wasn’t comfortable posting on the blog.  I did learn that I don’t like working with glitter and that sometimes, it’s okay to recycle a card, no matter how long it took to make.

4.  It’s always more fun to craft with others, but it’s not more productive.  I look so forward to craft night every week, but I found that I had a hard time turning out my best cards.  I was too distracted with being social to direct all my creative energy into my work.  I’m not giving up craft night, just making sure I give myself some solitary craft time during the week.

5.  Everyone has different tastes and your favorite work will not necessarily appeal to your followers.  My favorite card of the challenge is either the “One in a Million” card from day 11 or the “Hello Adventure” card from day 16.  The post that received the most attention from others was the bright and punchy post which included days 25, 26 and 27.  Probably my least favorite cards.

6.  I love making cards!  It’s a great creative outlet and an easy an accessible hobby that makes your loved ones happy when they bring in the mail.

Thank you all again!

Keep pressing on and don’t forget to enter the giveaway!

28 thoughts on “30×30 Challenge Wrap-up + Giveaway

  1. I rarely make cards, but am currently trying not to buy any ready made cards and it’s currently working. My skills are very basic and I often lack ideas. Your challenge was full of inspiration for me. I love the butterflies from day 5. They are so pretty and I’ve never tried anything 3d like those – it all seems a bit daunting to me!

    • I think that’s a great goal! I’ve found that people appreciate handmade cards so much more than store bought. I don’t know what your supplies are like, but I’ve been realizing that sometimes the simpler the card, then more people respond to it. So if you have some striking papers or stamps and a good sentiment, well that’s really all you need to make beautiful cards.
      If you’re looking for ideas I highly recommend Pinterest. Type “cards” into the search field and you will find an endless stream of card making inspiration.
      As for the butterflies I wouldn’t have tried them either if I didn’t have my Cameo cutting machine. But if you invest in some punches you can make some pretty great 3d elements to add pop to your cards.
      Thanks for following my progress all month and I hope to be sending some cards your way!

  2. Congrats on finishing the challenge!
    All your cards are wonderful, but I have to say the sunshine card from day 17 is my favorite of the bunch (but the envelope book is a close second!)

    • Vivian, Thank you, I wasn’t sure I was going to finish on time, but I just squeaked by. I’m glad you like those two, they’re tops of my list also. Hopefully I’ll be sending one your way soon 🙂
      Thanks for entering!

  3. It is wonderful seeing them all together like this. I looked through them and love Day 2 (as I said on Pinterest), I also like Day 4 (as mentioned on Facebook) and Day 12 (as mentioned on Twitter). The one I think is most stunning (and I know the effort that went into it: The lovely Roses on Day 24. Great challenge well met, Carson!

      • I think you should put my number in with a chance to win ONE card for each “entry” that I did. There should still just be ONE winner. I just got more entries for my social networking prowess… So if you pick any of my entries, I would win for that entry and the card I named for that entry, not winning FOUR.

      • Hey whose giveaway is this? The way it’s laid out is that you win an extra card and entry for every share up to 5 cards. So if you share the post through 5 sites, then you have 5 entries and if any are picked then you win 5 cards. It’s okay, I have a lot of cards, so don’t worry!

  4. This has been an exciting adventure! I love all the cards you have created, each with their own unique style. I think two of my favorites are Day 14 and Day 28. I love the concentric stitched circles and the texture of 14. I think using the maps to make the butterflies on day 28 is brilliant! I also like the background which makes it look like the top of a globe.

    • Thank you sweetheart! I’ve got you down for two cards if you win. I know I’ve already won because I landed you. Thank you for all your support this past month. Don’t worry we’ll get to watch a lot more TV together now 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping in! I think I’m going to try to get a card a day going in May, only because it’s catchy and I tend to have a lot of energy in the spring. I’ll keep you posted and maybe we can do a joint blog venture or something.
      Your blog is great and I love your work!

    • Thank you, the challenge was fun although at times a little stressful, but I’m so glad I was able to concentrate on my craft uninterrupted for so long.
      I’m looking forward to seeing more of your work now that I’ve discovered your blog.

    • Cara, so glad you entered. I love sending you cards! I talked to your gorgeous sister on her birthday and I still, after all these years, can’t get over how great you two are. Missing you and hoping to see you in Nov, but I know that whole school thing might get in the way.

    • I’m so glad you’re inspired to do the challenge. I definitely recommend it and if you do a few cards in a sitting it really is manageable. I’m heading over to your blog now to subscribe in case you blog about it. Thanks for the comment!

  5. I hope you don’t give up on craft nights….I promise I will not chatter too much:)
    In no particular order–I like cards 2, 6, 15, 24, 27 and 28
    Don’t ask me why…I just like them AND some of those were made during craft night. Heehehehe

    • Jean! You know I would never give up craft night, and you’re right I did make some good ones while chatting it up. I think we need more music when we craft. Next week you need to bring your MP3 player and we can rock out to your tunes. Just remember to throw some Canadian Rap in there for Jess! I’ve got two cards coming your way if you win!

  6. Very inspirational – makes me want to make a card right now! I especially like Day 30’s card. The diagnols speak to me 🙂

    • I’m so glad I can inspire and I hope you did sit down to make that card, best to grab inspiration and put it straight to work 🙂 Thank you for the visit and the comment, it’s wonderful have a new face on the blog! Hope to see you again soon.

  7. I love your cards! If I could choose a favorite, I would have to keep the purpose in mind. If I win any of your cards, I would send it to Operation Write Home, which means I would choose any of them with absolutely no glitter. I am partial to bright colors, myself, and Day 26 is my favorite. If you find yourself with extra cards, think about checking into Operationwritehome.org.

    • Thank you, I just visited your blog and you have been very busy. I love the way you make a card and then replicate the design so quickly and efficiently.

      I’m not much of a glitter aficionado so you would have no problem there. I will definitely send a few cards to OWH once the drawing is done. Thank you for the great idea and the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

