Inspired By: Publication or “I’m Published, I’m Published!”

This month, the July issue of Cards Magazine hit the shelves, and look who has a card in it!

Okay, so that’s me holding the magazine and that’s my card!  I had almost forgotten this was coming up, as I submitted the card back in February.  But then, while browsing the shelves at Barnes and Noble, well there was Cards.  I’ve never paged through a magazine faster than in that moment.  It’s probable that  there are a bunch of gorgeous cards in this issue, but I can’t be sure, as I didn’t linger on any page until I found my card.

Here is a better picture of the card,

You’ll have to pick up a copy of the magazine if you want to know how to make it and what supplies I used.  Trust me, this mag is gorgeous and you’ll be inspired to start creating your own cards if you don’t already.

It was my turn this week to pick the theme for our craft night, and inspired by seeing my creation on the glossy page, I thought our theme should be submission.  I mean, we would create a card or two based on the Cards Magazine submission guidelines.  They are currently taking submissions for two months of publication so there were  many themes and styles to choose from.  You can find the guidelines here.

I chose to try my hand at a “Card for Men” and a card that adhered to their “Style Challenge”  for the February issue.

The style challenge was true to it’s name and making the card wasn’t easy for me.  The colors are totally in my comfort zone, but doilies?  Doilies are decidedly not my style.

Here is what I finally came up with.  I’m pretty sure I won’t be submitting this one to the magazine, but I am happy with it.  I used my sunburst method and template, which can be found here, and I used my Silhouette Cameo to cut out the circles and the doily.

I was happy with how my manly card turned out.  I had a little trouble with stamping on the tags, as they are a little more slick than the paper I’m used to working with, but I had to remind myself that it is indeed a card for a man and, in my experience, they don’t generally turn a critical eye to the greeting cards they receive.

So there you have it.  You’ll all be the first to know if my creations appear on glossy pages in the future.  Until then you can find all my work, the publication worthy and all the rest, right here on my little bloggy blog.

Keep pressing on, and don’t forget to put yourselves and your work out into the world, if I can do it, well then so can you!

Carson

12 thoughts on “Inspired By: Publication or “I’m Published, I’m Published!”

  1. Ha! There is a big part of me that just wants to yell “DOILIES” at you over and over. DOILIES! HA! (Congratulations, my friend! Gorgeous work!)

    • Just reading the word twice in capitals is making me physically cringe, stop it! Thank you for the lowercase part of your comment, and for commenting at all, you’ve made my (good) night, my friend!

  2. Congrats! I am so thrilled for you. You definitely have a talent both for crafts and for writing. Every post that I read, I want to nudge the person next to me and say “I know her!”

  3. Congratulations, it’s good when you see something you have created in a magazine, I’ve had about 3 of my pieces featured in some jewellery magazines and you just can’t wait for them to get published, I had to wait about 8/9 months for mine to appear! I also love both of your cards, especially the male one, so difficult to find good cards for men. A little tip someone gave me when stamping or embossing on a shiny or slippery surface is to apply a little clear gesso, it’s ‘gritty’ texture makes it easier to adhere to, I’ve only tried it once when I wanted to emboss on the sides of box I was having a go at decoupage on, but it worked. Linda x

    • Linda,
      Thank you so much for the tip. I do own some gesso as I was going to try my hand at transferring a picture to canvas, I’ll definitely give it a go with stamping in the future. It does feel great to have that validation of publication, and it certainly doesn’t hurt the crafting resume.
      Thanks for the comment, I love having you as a regular visitor here at the blog.

  4. YAAAAAAY!!! I’m so delighted for you, Carson! What a thrill to have your card published. I will be looking for that magazine later today and I’m buying it so I can see YOUR CARD in the pages with my own eyes. I’m also inspired to try some cards this weekend following their guidelines. I’ll be showing your published card off at work next week.

    Thanks for the inspiration!

    • I’m so glad you are going thinking about submitting something. If anyone deserves for the world to see their cards, well its you for sure. Beware the high price tag on the magazine, make sure you look before you buy. As for the inspiration, well its about time I gave some back to you 🙂

Leave a Reply

