Organization: Current Projects

We’ve moved!  Blue Button Press is now officially the new Pine & Plum.  In the move I did lose all my lovely WordPress followers, so if you think you may be one of my lost friends please re-subscribe to stay up to date with everything Pine & Plum.

I’ve been thinking a lot about craft room organization lately and I believe I’ve found my perfect solution for how to deal with the projects I’m currently working on.  Because I’m a paper-crafter and my projects take up physical space, I need a system which keeps each project and all of the supplies corralled until I can finish it.  Finishing a project can often take a few days and sometimes a few months if I get side-tracked.

Which means that my storage solution needs to be:

  1. Visible; to remind me the project is there and unfinished.
  2. Attractive; if it’s going to be visible, it needs to be easy on the eyes.
  3. Stackable; I can often have 4 or 5 projects going at once.
  4. Portable; it’s important that I be able to move the whole project to my work space and back when I need to.
So when I was browsing through Target a few months back and saw these stackable serving trays, I thought I would give them a try and I’m so glad that I did.
The trays are just the right size to hold 12×12 papers and even scrapbooks, as you can see above.  They are deep enough to fit most supplies (I keep the one with the scrapbook on top) and they fit the bill for all my other criteria.  The best part is that they are $12.99 so they won’t break the bank, they may leave a dent, but it’s a price I’m willing to pay for some sanity in my creative space.  The trays come in three colors as far as I can tell, White, Black and a Turquoise Blue.  I’m in the process of neutralizing the colors in my space so I chose white, although the blue was speaking to me.

 

I keep everything I need for the project in the tray until the project is finished.  This excludes my most commonly used tools such as scissors, exacto knife, bone folder, etc.  Those, I keep in my spinning organizer from Michael’s; another sanity saver.  The cutting mat and paper cutter reside always on the desktop, unless we have guests for dinner.
I’ve also thought about using those post-it labels to identify which project is in each tray, so that when they’re stacked, a quick glance can tell you where exactly your project is.

 

I do have one word of warning though.  Buy one more than you think you’ll need.  I guarantee you that one will somehow always be occupied by a large pile of scrap paper!
Oh, and you can drop the hint to your honey that they would be perfect for breakfast in bed.

 

 I would love to hear what tricks and tips you have to organize your projects and craft stash, please don’t be shy, I love to read and reply to all your comments!

 

Keep pressing on, and don’t forget to enter our giveaway, you have until tonight at midnight (PST).

 

Carson

 

6 thoughts on “Organization: Current Projects

  1. Very clever idea! Who’d have thought, knowing you in your early days, that you would become so tidy and organised?! Keep up the amazing work, sis.

    • I know right? But I guess when the mess became someone else’s, well then I realized just how awful it was, now I like to keep even my own mess under control. Thanks for the comment beautiful sister, looking forward to November!

  2. Great idea. I think the turquoise trays would have been lovely too. However, I understand about making the work space colors more neutral so the crafty stuff colors can stand out.

    • For a while there all my storage was fun and colorful and it was like a color bomb went off in our dining room. It was just too much, so I’m trying to scale back and bring in more neutrals. I guess I like to feel calm when I walk into my craft space.

  3. You’ve inspired me to organize the things I use often in a visible way… my wonderful husband is building me a wall-mounted organizer with dowel to hang ribbon spools, shelves to store ink pads, a cubby for glues, and hooks to hang scissors. I’ll post on FB when completed! Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Jess that is awesome, make you sure he builds you some room to grow too, and let him know that he may be taking orders from the craft night ladies, perhaps he should just make three 🙂

Leave a Reply

