Organization: Ink Pads

We’ve moved!  Blue Button Press is now officially the new Pine & Plum.  In the move I did lose all my lovely WordPress followers, so if you think you may be one of my lost friends please re-subscribe to stay up to date with everything Pine & Plum.

I’ve found myself in a strange place with my business this past week or so.  I had a selling bonanza 2 weeks ago (4 items), which left my store fairly empty in online terms.  Because of that, I haven’t been getting the looks and stats that I have grown accustomed to over the past few months.  And low stats bring me down, way down.  I know what I need to do; I need to make more product.  It’s just a matter of finding the time.  I am working it out though, looking at some childcare options for the summer and trying to squeeze as much granny care out of the sweet old ladies as I can.

But whenever I feel down, one thing that is always a sure-fire pick me up is to organize and clean my crafting space.  So in the few half hours I could steal for myself today I worked out a system for organizing and cataloging my inks.

I’ve wanted to do this for a while now and I did have a few failed attempts, but with the help of Papertrey Ink, and some sneak peeks at one of their new products, I was able to come up with my own system.  I found my inspiration here, at one of my favorite crafty blogs.  Betsy Veldman has some great ideas for organizing her inks, mists, ideas and sketches and I decided to steal one of her ideas and super size it.

I used her idea of the misted punched circles to come up with this document that allows me to use a circle stamp and catalog all my inks by category, color and brand.

I wanted to use an 8.5 by 11 format so I could really see the colors I was working with.  I also had an empty binder in that size just waiting to be filled.  I kept the colors on the document bland so that the inks themselves would pop off the page.  I then printed a few pages onto bright white cardstock and started stamping.  I used the categories, “Pigment Inks,” “Chalk Inks,” and “Other Inks.”  My stash right now is mainly Color Box brand, but I would love to grow my collection and as you can see I’ve left room for that.

I used one of the circle stamps from this Studio Calico stamp set and managed to do all the stamping in about an hour.

As for the actual stamp pads themselves, they live in my favorite piece of furniture, my Ikea hutch, a craigslist treasure!

Please excuse the mess, I swear it’s an orderly one.

I now have grand plans to catalog all the papers I use most often, stay tuned!

Oh, and this came in the mail today…

Do you see how my Silhouette Cameo is already giving it the cold shoulder, toys can be so territorial.

Keep pressing on, even if your stats are low, there is bound to be a sewing machine at your doorstep sooner or later.

Carson

Oh, and I would love to hear how you organize or catalog your supplies!

I just linked this post up to the Tater Tots and Jello Weekend Wrap-up, go check it out!

I just linked this post up to the Serenity Now Weekend Bloggy Reading, go check it out too!

7 thoughts on “Organization: Ink Pads

  1. I have always stored my inks upside down so the ink stayed on top and not in the bottom (or back). I learned this when I first started stamping with Stampin up about 20 -25 years ago.

    • I’ve definitely heard of that and it makes a lot of sense. The only reason I don’t do it is simply because I like seeing the inks I have when I open the drawer. If I had a rack where I could see the edges I would be all over that! Thank you for checking out my blog and for the great comment.

  2. Pingback: Organization: Acrylic Stamps « bluebuttonpress

  3. Pingback: Organization: Acrylic Stamps - Pine & Plum

Leave a Reply

