A Banner Week

It has been awhile since I’ve posted a true blog post about me and what I’ve been up to, so I want to catch you up on life here in Washington and in the bluebuttonpress studio, aka, my dining room.  Life has been good to us.  The Bub is healthy, happy and thriving.  He is talking up a storm, loving his train sets and has even picked up the harmonica.  If this whole paper-crafting gig doesn’t work out, I know Bub can make good money busking on the streets of Seattle, there really is nothing cuter than him whipping up a tune on his slobbery blues harp.

I’ve been working hard on some custom jobs for family and friends, I love you guys, and I even managed to make a……wait for it…. stranger sale!  This means, that someone I don’t know, someone who doesn’t have any obligation to like my stuff or help me get my business up and running, has found me on the internet and opted to purchase something I made.  Woowee!  The day it happened I nearly jumped out of my skin with excitement and accomplishment.  Then, only a half hour later I dropped my iPhone straight into my full, piping hot, cup of coffee.  It  was a good reminder that it was only one sale, one that wouldn’t even pay for a new phone, and that I have to keep plugging away.  However, the fact that even a dead iPhone couldn’t dampen my spirits was validation that I’m doing the right thing, pursuing the right dream.

So in that vein, I’ve had a ton of fun making some custom banners for friends and I wanted to share them with you all.

The first is a banner commissioned by my sister-in-law for one of her best friends back home in Juneau.  Her friend, Mrs. Harris, is a 3rd grade teacher and needed some classroom decor.  I whipped up this rainbow banner for her.  Hopefully it’s a constant reminder to all her student’s who their boss is once they set foot in that classroom.

It was great fun working with the rainbow colors and picking out just the right school days font.  I added the rub-on color names at the last minute to add interest and fill in too much blank space and I just love how it turned out.  For you grammar sticklers out there, I debated long and hard about adding the extra “s” after the apostrophe.  I looked it up online and it looks as though both are correct but only one “s” is the standard.  I figured she could slide off the extra “s” if it contradicts what the students are being taught.  Ultimately I decided to let the teacher decide.

The flowers were also fun, and a first for me, I plan to use them all the time now.  They were cut with my trusty Silhouette Cameo using a design I downloaded.  Not only are they a great focal point for the banner but they are also a great way to use up scrap paper from the project.  The wood-grain card stock is also a favorite of mine.  It is some of the heaviest card stock I’ve run across and it stands up beautifully when cut by the Silhouette.  I love the subtle detail it adds to any project.

The next project I completed was for a gorgeous little girl’s 3rd birthday party.  She is a huge fan of the Backyardigans, the kid has great taste, and her grandmother wanted a birthday banner in that theme.  Now I too am a fan of the Backyardigans, they are indeed my backyard friends, and I was thrilled to work with their sweet little enthusiastic images.  Once I managed to print the characters out in the right size and at the best resolution, the banner came together rather quickly.

I decided on a pastel color scheme for the flags and used coordinating patterned paper from a couple of my favorite 6×6 pads to create the letters.  Again with the flowers, this time using a different downloaded design and in a much smaller scale.

I won the yellow chevron ribbon in a giveaway on the May Arts blog.  It is made of twill and is so soft and beautiful, sigh*.

I don’t have any more custom orders at this point so its back to making wedding and correspondence items for the shop.  I just finished a 2-sided Welcome and Thank You banner.  Take a peek, then tell your friends.

I hope you have a banner week yourselves and by all means, keep pressing on!

Carson

3 thoughts on “A Banner Week

Leave a Reply

